We sat down with Roger A. Grimes, a computer guru who was hired to hack companies to test their cybersecurity, to talk about his book and the importance of ethical hacking. vpnMentor: What made you write this book? Grimes: A lot of reasons made me want to write it, but the primary impetus was two audiences: 1) To give a general introduction to people considering a job in IT security, and 2) To give guidance to people who are doing or considering illegal unethical hacking, particularly students. My wife and I faced a similar challenge from our son many years ago and his hacking hobby turned into a great career with a little guidance. vpnMentor: What new knowledge did you gain while writing the book? Grimes: My favorite part of the book writing process was interviewing the legends of the IT industry which I had followed for decades. It was great to meet them one-on-one, hear their stories, and in many cases verify or modify some of the stories I had heard about them. There is no doubt that was my favorite part. Click here to read the first chapter of Hacking the Hacker.